Thursday, January 10, 2008

Jacory Harris Named Florida's Mr. Football

Congratulations to Miami Northwestern High School quarterback Jacory Harris for being named Florida's Mr. Football award. Harris is the first player from Miami-Dade or Broward counties to receive this honor, which goes to the state's player of the year.

The 6'4, 170 pound Harris led the Bulls to a perfect 15-0 record, while passing for 3,445 yards, 49 touchdowns and just 6 interceptions. During his high school career, Harris started 30 games and never lost. An honors student, Harris graduated early from Northwestern and will begin classes at the University of Miami on Monday. He is expected to compete with Robert Marve for UM's starting quarterback job this spring. Coincidently, Marve was last year's Mr. Football after starring at Tampa's Plant High School.

Past Mr. Football Winners

1992 Jammi German Fort Myers
1993 Shevin Wiggins Bradenton Manatee
1994 Daunte Culpepper Ocala Vanguard
1995 Frankie Franklin Jacksonville Sandalwood
1996 Travis Henry Frostproof
1997 Zain Gilmore Tampa Robinson
1998 Anquan Boldin Pahokee
1999 Willie Green Kissimmee Osceola
2000 Adrian McPherson Bradenton Southeast
2001 Leon Washington Jacksonville Jackson
2002 Andre Reese Pierson Taylor County
2003 Xavier Lee Daytona Beach Seabreeze
2004 Antone Smith Pahokee
2005 Tim Tebow Ponte Vedra Nease
2006 Robert Marve Tampa Plant
2007 Jacory Harris Miami Northwestern


Fawzy said...


Fawzy said...

When are you updating the blog? You are slacking my friend. Come on, let's get with it. Iknow the heat suck, and the dolphins are a huge question mark but what about UM basketball??

Anonymous said...

Hello. This post is likeable, and your blog is very interesting, congratulations :-). I will add in my blogroll =). If possible gives a last there on my blog, it is about the Monitor de LCD, I hope you enjoy. The address is A hug.